Heart

by Sally Goldsmith

heartThis old scientific image of a heart is pinned next to my desk. I love the colours, the exactness, the typeface. Tracey Holland’s image  used for the cover of my new collection, Are We There Yet? has an image of a real heart (you ought to see her freezer!) Obviously I love that image too –  it spoke to me as something I could use, link to my collection. But what is it about the heart? We worry about it – my Dad died of a heart attack, so many of us take pills for it – but it’s also supposedly the seat of love. Grief, I find, can make it physically ache. But sometimes, somehow, I am also aware of it reaching out, even having a colour – an unexpected feeling I had when writing my poem Pink. What is it about the heart? Hackneyed image? Powerful symbol?

